Lutheran Church of Australia – Victoria | Tasmania District
  • The Lutheran Church dates back to the reformation in the sixteenth century when Martin Luther challenged some of the teachings and practices of the church of his day. Luther insisted that the Bible is the authority that decides what the church should teach and do.
  • The Lutheran church is one of the world’s major Christian churches, with 70 million members worldwide.
  • In Australia and New Zealand, almost 250,000 people call themselves Lutherans. In Australia, more than 600 congregations join together as the Lutheran Church of Australia.
  • In the words of the classic Lutheran summary of faith, we believe that we are saved ‘by grace, for Christ’s sake, through faith’. In other words, there is nothing we can do to earn God’s favour or to gain eternal life. Through his death and resurrection, Jesus Christ has won all this and more for us. We also believe that only the Bible is the source of inspiration and teaching.


  • The Victoria/Tasmania District is a Synod made up of pastors and delegates from 70+ congregations who meet in convention every two years.
  • The Victorian¬†District including Tasmania has 44 parishes and 88 congregations and preaching places, with 15 schools, 53 called pastors, and 22 retired pastors
  • The District is also served by part time and full time layworkers, some fully accredited by the LCA. There are approximately 35 layworkers across Victoria and Tasmania